About Platte County Parks and Recreation

Since 2000, the parks system in Platte County has grown from a single 18-acre neighborhood park to six regional parks, over 30 miles of trails, and two indoor community centers with 150,000 square feet of health, wellness and aquatic space.

Partnerships are the foundation of the Platte County parks system. With leadership from the County Commission and Park Board, partnerships have been developed with every city, school district, and recreation non-profit organization in the county to provide recreational services. These collaborations help to keep our parks well maintained and safe while leveraging the dedicated tax dollars and avoiding duplication of services.

To view the current Parks Master Plan and learn more about our mission and goals click here.


  • Ron Schieber

    Presiding Commissioner

  • Dagmar Wood

    1st District Commissioner

  • John Elliott

    2nd District Commissioner


  • Josh Linville

  • Kenny Brown

    Vice Chair

  • Jack Laney


  • Tim Nash

  • Jim Kunce


  • Jane Scheckel

  • Linda Yeager

Interested in Learning More?

The Park Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 5:30 pm. Weather dependent, some meetings will be held on-site at different park properties. Check this calendar the day before the meeting to confirm the location. Indoor meetings are held at the Platte County Resource Center, 11724 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, Missouri. All meetings are open to the public, and feedback and participation are always welcome.

Platte County Parks Staff

Daniel Erickson


Chris Oryshyn

Assistant Director

Pat Clark

Park Superintendent

Jackie Halloran

Recreation & Marketing Coordinator

Platte County Parks playgrounds and restrooms will be closed until further notice.  This includes the playgrounds at Platte Ridge Park, Barry Platte Park, and the Barry Platte Annex.  The restroom facilities at Platte Ridge Park soccer and baseball complexes will also be closed.  Platte County Parks is canceling all ball-field reservations at Barry Platte Park and Platte Ridge Park until further notice per recommendations of the CDC. We will be assessing the situation on a weekly basis. Questions? Please call 816-858-3419

Parks and trails do remain open, including open space and trails.  Please use proper social distancing when using the parks.